American Sign Language

I started teaching my son Myles baby signs when he was 6 months old because of all the positive benefits I had read about. However, once he started talking I stopped using sign language and focused mainly on oral speech. I’ve been doing research on finding groups or schools that cater to deaf and/or hard of hearing children in my area so that I can immerse my son into the language or deaf culture for a few reasons.

You always hear about trying to introduce a deaf child into the hearing world, but why is it never you hear about introducing a hearing child into the deaf world? Just as deaf children have to find out that not everybody is like them and some kids can hear, I think it’s just as important for hearing kids to understand that not everyone can hear like them. I don’t want my son to grow up with any misguided information about any culture and I want him to be well-rounded in life.

We started watching a show on Netflix called Signing Time, and he enjoys the show. I found out that Rachel Coleman is coming to our town in October, so I bought tickets for me and Myles to attend! He may not be as excited as I am, but I’m looking forward to it.

Thanks for reading 🙂

E-mail me: cheritaisrandom@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

