Flash Cards

Anyone who knows me personally knows how random I am. I’m interested in just about everything on a certain level. I’ve started a few blogs in which I attempt to stay on one specific subject, but it never works out. So here I am today, making a blog about any and everything. I plan on blogging once a day, but everyday will be different. Today I’ll be talking about reading; tomorrow I might discuss crocheting. I’m working on a few projects right now so whatever is consuming my mind for the day is what I will be blogging about.

Here it goes.

I have a 3 year old son who is extremely intelligent. I’m sure you’re thinking “everyone thinks their child is smart”, but I’m the type of parent and person who will give you the truth. I’ve just become comfortable with telling people that my child is smart. I don’t want to be “that parent” who thinks their kid is the cutest, smartest, or funniest when he or she is not. I don’t think my son is the smartest ever, but he is exceptionally smart. At this age he is also a little sponge and I like to fill his head with as much knowledge as his not so little head can hold. He can already recognize every letter of the alphabet and he knows what sound each letter makes, so logically the next step would be reading. I’ve been looking at ways I can teach him how to read AND make it fun…thank goodness for Pinterest.

Not only have I made a few of these word family flash cards, but I’ve also made some flash cards for contractions and prefixes/suffixes. I believe any child who can talk is capable of learning how to read. The earlier you introduce him or her to reading, the easier it will be. The word family approach is an amazing system and I’m excited to test it out. I just made the cards yesterday and I left them with my mom, so hopefully she is working with Myles.

With that being said, this is my inaugural post and I HOPE I can continue this blog. If you are interested in my flashcards, e-mail me at: cheritaisrandom@gmail.com

Thanks everyone!

Leave a Reply

